FAQs for Students
- What are the risks of driving?
- What classes am I required to take?
- What tips can you give me for getting my learner's permit?
- Does Chase "2" offer package deals for teens?
- How long will it take to get my license?
- Will classes fit my schedule?
- Where can I get the Connecticut Drivers Manual?
What are the risks of driving?
Every year, 4000 teenagers are killed in car crashes, and about 350,000 are injured. Sixteen and 17 year old drivers are four times more likely to get into accidents than older drivers. No matter how old a person is, statistics show a driver needs to have at least 5 years of experience on the roads. At Chase "2" we emphasize road safety rules and defensive driving.
What classes am I required to take?
Any persons, regardless of age, starting at 16 years and older, who has never held a state driver's license, are required to take an 8 Hour Safe Driving class which includes the effects of drugs and alcohol on a driver and road safety. You must receive a CS1 certificate at the completion of class and present the certificate to DMV in order to test for a state driver's license. Classes are held every week for the convenience of our students.
What tips can you give me for getting my learner's permit?
Regardless of age, everyone is required by Connecticut state law to take and pass a permit test and obtain a learner's permit before being able to drive on the road.
The permit test is done at your local DMV, and no appointment is necessary. Making sure you have the right documents is very important, nothing is worse than waiting in line just to find out you have to come back. Required documents are:
- Social Security card (can not be laminated)
- Birth Certificate (with original seal)
- Proof of address (something that has a postage stamp on it)
- The fee of course — $40.00
Does Chase "2" Driving School offer package deals for teens?
We offer the Complete Teen course which consists of 30 hours of classroom training, and includes the mandatory 8-Hour Safe Driving Class and 8 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction. See all our packages and fees ….
How long will it take to get my license?
If you enroll in the Complete Teen class at Chase "2" Driving School and complete it successfully, you need to wait only 4 months from the time you get your learner's permit until you can take your final driving test for your license. If you do not complete a driving school course, you must wait at least 6 months after you get your learner's permit until you can take your final driving test for your license.
Will classes fit my schedule?
We are aware of how hard it is to be a teen. Homework, sports, dances, writing papers. You may be thinking of putting driving school aside, and just doing the "minimum", but Chase "2" Driving School has classes to accommodate your needs and hectic schedules. Driving is one of the most important skills that you will use for a lifetime. Come learn the safe way! See our class schedule ….
Where can I get the Connecticut Drivers Manual?
Download the Connecticut Drivers Manual [PDF, 780KB] from the Department of Motor Vehicles.